10 Things Only Social Anxiety Sufferers Understand

hello-my-name-is-anxiety

1. Saying “No” to someone’s face isn’t in our vocabulary

 “Do you want to come out tonight?” Errrr ok

“Can you cover my shift tomorrow?” I’m getting married tomorr….. “Please! It’s really important.” Ok then

“I’m going through a gambling crisis. Can I borrow your life savings?” I guess so

Can’t we just send no by text instead of saying it out loud.

2. You will avoid using the telephone at all costs

Why don’t you make a quick call to ask a friend you haven’t seen in a while what they’re up to. Or take a guided tour through hell. Both equally as fun.

3. On the rare occasion of being invited to a party you will cling to the one person you know like a leech

Your friend is your safe place. You are relying on his conversation which you can occasionally chirp into if you’re feeling particularly brave. You rely on their support in case you say something controversial and everyone hates you. If you lose said friend you will start panicking and frantically search everywhere for them.

hyperbole-and-a-half-awkard-conversations-four-levels-of-social-entrapment-555x333

4. If you go to a party where you don’t really know anyone you’ll move from group to group every 5 minutes not saying a word

You’re standing in a group and someone is dominating the conversation.

 This guy is  boring, I really wish there was a good opportunity where i could say something.

“So what do you?”

Oh shit. You say something spasticated and the boring guy continues talking.

Nah not my type of people. You move groups and continue this process again.

5. You come across as mentally retarded because you don’t speak and are staring into space

187a3gr2b696vjpg

6. When you are being talkative you are probably very drunk

Oh Jesus! Finally the release! At last i can let fly with my shit jokes and extreme views and no one really cares. Why don’t i do this all the time? Oh wait.. I’m gonna throw up….

7. Your default response to someone’s comment is “Yeh” followed by a laugh/grunt

“Good weather today” Yeh laugh/grunt

“Nice jacket” Yeh laugh/grunt

“My Mother just died” Yeh laugh/grunt

8. The best way of dealing with a problem where you have to talk to someone is by burying your head in the sand and hoping it goes away

Angry at someone? Repress those feelings and hope the other person stops being annoying.

Can’t make a meeting with someone. You can’t tell them and let them down. Oh no. Just don’t turn up and say you forgot later.

9. After a conversation you go through what you said with a fine toothcomb

forensic_1857868c

10. Your worst nightmare is being alone with another person you don’t know well

Should i initiate conversation? Maybe they don’t want to talk. What if they start asking me things? They hate me. I hate this silence. Ask me something! I cant take the silence anymore.

4 thoughts on “10 Things Only Social Anxiety Sufferers Understand

  1. Hey this is a great list of things that people with social anxiety can relate to. I can still remember how difficult it was for me to pick up the phone and make a phone call. And answering the phone was not any easier.

    By the way, I just wanted to say that you’re doing a great thing here. Your approach to writing about social anxiety is very unique and I like the idea of you having fun with it. It’s very rare to see someone who has this problem and can make fun of it and be positive. So I really had to say I’m glad I found this blog.

    I’ve also read your post about not posting anymore. I hope you were joking because I really dig your approach!

    By the way, I’ve also started a blog recently and would appreciate if you paid me a visit 🙂

    Since this is the holiday season you might actually like my post on how to deal with social anxiety during the holiday season. You can check it out here:

    http://socialanxietyadvice.com/how-to-handle-holiday-anxiety/

    Have a wonderful day!

    Andre

    Like

    • Thanks mate. Good to hear someone else is reading it apart from me.
      Can relate to your post about christmas. My family has given up asking whether i’ve met a girl, pretty sure they think i’m gay so that’s kind of a get out of jail free card. The worst is “what are you up to?”. I’m unemployed, so its “im still looking for jobs” thats the conversation. Anyway thanks again for your comment
      Take care
      Phill

      Like

      • Hey Phill, I know exactly how you feel. My parents were the same. They kept asking me when I would bring someone home and it always made me eel awkward. And my uncle has a restaurant and also kept asking me when am I going to get married because he has a nice place to host the wedding lunch. Like they don’t know that we would probably already tell them about it if there was something to tell 🙂

        Well, keep posting. I’ll come back and read. 🙂 And when you don’t feel like it, just skip a day or two…. or a week 🙂 And then come back and publish something new when you get something new to say.

        Take care,
        Andre

        Like

All Comments Welcome...