How To Think About The World Coming To An End

apocalypse-fantasy-art-digital-art-1510775-1600x637

 

Live every day as if it is your last

I don’t want to be pessimistic, but humanity is on a fast track course to extinction. It will be decimated within my generation and will near extinction after a few more. Impending economic crises that are going to get worse and worse, species extinction that is already equivalent to the asteroid impact that wiped out the dinosaurs, global warming caused by the destruction of the environment, growing inequality and tensions rising between nations, at the moment due to the US led Western empire crumbling.

What are governments doing about these problems? Well, nearly nothing. I could write all day about this because my anxiety ridden brain loves absorbing this kind of apocalyptic information. But the quote “Live every day as if it is your last” has never been so relevant. When the next economic crisis hits (2015 is my prediction) recessions will not end and the threat of war will stop revolutions. Our options for fun will become a luxury only for the wealthy. There will be limited travel, going out and material wealth.

So really we should be making the most out of the privileges we have right now.  Unfortunately, I have no job, no money, and am neurotically contemplating the end of the world. I start panicking that I am wasting the only opportunity to experience these things I will ever get in my life. These are the kind of thoughts an irrational mind of the anxious and depressed will express.

Then I think about the insignificant blink in time my life is compared to the history of the solar system and the insignificant speck I am on the Earth and the Earth is to the vastness of the universe. Then I relax and think “Fuck it. It’s all meaningless anyway. Nothing really matters, especially the extinction of the human race.”

All Comments Welcome...